Best pantry inventory app for 2026: 9 apps compared

The best pantry inventory app is the one you'll still be updating in March. Almost every pantry tracker has expiry dates and a shopping list, so the features rarely decide it. What decides it is how food gets into the app (barcode, receipt photo or typing), whether it runs on your phone, and where the free tier stops.
A disclosure before the list: we make Duneed, one of the nine apps below. It sits where it honestly fits, as the pick for adding groceries from receipts, and its limits are listed like everyone else's. We haven't tested the other apps hands-on. Every detail comes from each app's App Store or Google Play listing and the developer's own site, read in September 2026. Prices are US list prices and vary by region.
For the most features across iPhone, Android and the web, pick KitchenPal. For barcode scanning on iPhone, Pantry Check. For a free, ad-free app where one purchase shares with the family, Your Food. Preppers should look at BeaglePrep, self-hosters at Grocy, and people who'd rather photograph a receipt than scan every can, at Duneed.
Pantry inventory apps compared
| App | Platforms | Adding items | Expiry alerts | Household sharing | Free tier | Paid (US, as listed Sept 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KitchenPal | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Android, web | Barcode, voice, text | Yes, before expiry; auto-detects dates for items like produce | Yes; Premium upgrades family members too | Core features; unlimited barcode scans are Premium (free scan limit not stated) | $3.99/mo, $14.99/yr, $29.99 lifetime, $39.99 family lifetime |
| Pantry Check | iPhone, iPad (Android waitlist only) | Barcode, custom products with photos | Yes, with auto-estimated best-by dates | Yes, real-time family sharing | 200 items, no ads | Storage plans: 2,000 items listed $1.99 to $11.99, 10,000 items $4.99 to $29.99 (terms not stated) |
| Your Food | iPhone, iPad, Android | Barcode, typing, product history | Yes, you choose when | Premium, up to 10 members | One inventory, limited lists and products (numbers not stated), no ads | $14.99/yr, $44.99 lifetime; $3.99/mo family plan |
| NoWaste | iPhone, iPad, Android, web | Barcode; receipts, photos and AI assistant on iOS listing | Yes, up to two reminders per item | Sync across devices; household sharing not stated | 6 lists, 500 items | $6.99/yr, $29.99 lifetime |
| BeaglePrep | iPhone, iPad, Android | Barcode, autocomplete, manual | Yes, plus rotation reminders | Not yet (listed as upcoming for Pro) | 75 items, 7 locations | $4.99 one-time |
| Duneed | iPhone | Receipt photo or screenshot, manual | Yes, dates you set; one evening notification | Premium | 3 receipt scans a month, unlimited manual items, banner ad | $1.99/mo, $11.99/yr, 7-day trial |
| Pantrino | iPhone, iPad | Receipt scan, barcode | Yes, plus low-stock alerts | Yes (whether paid not stated) | Not stated | $1.99/wk, $4.99/mo, $34.99/yr, $129.99 lifetime |
| My Pantry Tracker | iPhone, iPad, Android, web | Barcode, external scanner on web, manual | Tracks dates; reminders not stated | Same account on several devices (paid); member sharing not stated | 1 location, 1 shopping list, ads | $5.99 per 6 months, $9.99/yr |
| Grocy | Self-hosted web app; community apps for Android and iOS | Barcode in browser or app, manual | Shows what's due; push reminders not stated | Multiple users on your server | Free, open source | Free (you run the server) |
A few ratings, since they come up: Pantry Check shows 4.5 from 1.6K ratings on the US App Store, KitchenPal 4.6 from 6.53K reviews on Google Play, and Your Food 4.7 from 794 reviews on Google Play. Several apps here have fewer than 30 ratings on the App Store, which tells you very little either way.
The apps, one by one
KitchenPal: the most features, and it runs almost everywhere
KitchenPal runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac, Android and the web, synced across all of them. The pantry side splits food into pantry, fridge, freezer and custom sections, and you add items by barcode (the developer cites a library of more than 5 million products), voice or text. It sends alerts before items expire and says it detects expiry automatically for some items, such as produce.
Around that sits a lot more: recipes matched to what you have, a meal planner, nutrition scores and shared shopping lists. Sharing the kitchen with family is part of the listing, and the App Store listing adds that upgrading to Premium upgrades your family members for free.
Premium is $3.99 a month, $14.99 a year, $29.99 lifetime or $39.99 for a family lifetime pack. It adds unlimited barcode scans, the meal planner, exports and custom storage sections.
The catch is size. If all you want is a list of what's in the cupboard, recipes, nutrition scores and diet filters are a lot to wade through, and one recent Google Play review said exactly that. The free tier also caps barcode scanning without saying where the cap is.
Pantry Check: barcode scanning on iPhone, priced by item count
Pantry Check is built around a fast barcode scanner and a crowd-sourced product database. It tracks per-item best-by dates, can estimate them for you, keeps a smart list of what's expiring and sends reminders. Family sharing syncs in real time, and you can set custom locations (a kitchen pantry and a basement shelf, say).
The pricing model is unusual and fairly generous. Everyone gets 200 items free, and finished items stop counting, so a one or two person household may never pay. Past that you buy storage: the US App Store lists a 2,000-item Premium plan at prices from $1.99 to $11.99 and a 10,000-item Pro plan from $4.99 to $29.99, without saying which price is which term. Its help page says plans don't auto-renew and that there are no ads.
Where it falls short: it's iPhone and iPad only. The Android page on its site is a waitlist signup. The last App Store update was version 2.9.1 on June 18, 2025, well over a year before this was written.
Your Food: free, no ads, one purchase covers the household
Your Food is made by one developer, and its site is unusually direct about what's free and what isn't. You add items by barcode or by typing a name, and every field except the name is optional, which matters more than it sounds. Add a date and you pick when you want the reminder.
The free version has no ads and includes syncing across your own devices, expiry dates, reminders and a shopping list, with one inventory and limited lists and products. The site doesn't put a number on "limited." Premium adds up to 10 inventories (home, office, a camper van), sublists, budget tracking and real-time sharing with up to 10 household members. One purchase covers everyone you invite. On the US App Store it's $14.99 a year or $44.99 lifetime, with a $3.99 monthly family plan also listed.
The downside: household sharing, the reason many families want an app at all, is Premium only. And a one-person studio is a real consideration for an app you plan to rely on for years, though its Google Play listing shows an update on August 28, 2026.
NoWaste: the cheapest upgrade, but check your platform
NoWaste has the largest item allowance of any free tier here that states one: 6 lists and 500 items. Pro raises that to unlimited lists and 5,000 items for $6.99 a year, or $29.99 once. The iOS listing says you can add food by scanning barcodes, receipts or photos, or by talking to an AI assistant, and the release notes mention up to two expiry reminders per item. There's also a web app.
Check your platform, though, because the listings don't match. The Google Play listing mentions barcode scanning only, with no receipts, photos or assistant, and its rating there is 2.8 from 273 reviews against 4.2 from 749 ratings on the App Store. Neither listing mentions sharing an inventory with another person, only syncing lists across devices.
BeaglePrep: made for stockpiles, offline by design
BeaglePrep is a prepper inventory first and a kitchen app second, and it handles food well: quantities, locations (pantry, garage, car, bug-out bag), restock thresholds, expiry alerts and recurring reminders like rotating stored water. Set your household size and it calculates a Prep Score, the days of supply you have for food, water, medical and fuel. Home canners can log a batch of 12 jars as one card with a seal date.
It works fully offline with no account, and barcode lookups use Open Food Facts and USDA data, cached on the phone. Free covers 75 items and 7 locations. Pro is $4.99 once for unlimited items, shopping lists, CSV import and export, and optional cloud sync.
Expect to pay: 75 items is small for a real stockpile. There's no household sharing yet (the Google Play listing calls it upcoming), and the app is young, with 100+ downloads on Google Play and 5 ratings on the App Store.
Duneed: best if you'd rather add groceries from the receipt
Duneed is our app, so read this entry with that in mind. It's iPhone only. Instead of scanning each item, you photograph a paper grocery receipt or take a screenshot of a digital one. It pulls out the line items, matches each to a category and carries over the price you paid, and you review the list before anything is saved, renaming, repricing or deleting any line. The receipt image is read once and deleted, on the phone and on the server. You can also add items by hand, unlimited, on every plan.
Expiry works on dates you set: an amber badge a few days out, red once the date has passed, and one evening notification a day that collects what needs eating. Because the prices come from the receipt, you also get spending totals by month (compared with last month) and by category. Premium adds household sharing (one pantry, one shopping list), no ads, 30 scans a week, and a count of what was thrown away and what it cost. Premium is $1.99 a month or $11.99 a year after a 7-day free trial. Free gets 3 receipt scans a month with no time limit.
The limitations, plainly: no barcode scanning, no Android, no web app, and no separate fridge and freezer locations. It won't guess an expiry date for you, and 3 free scans a month won't cover a household that shops twice a week. If the freezer is your real problem, a paper freezer inventory sheet is still the simplest fix.
Pantrino: receipt scanning with a bigger price tag
Pantrino is the other receipt-first app here, and its listing covers a lot of ground: receipt scanning, barcode scanning, expiry reminders, low-stock alerts, spending and price tracking, receipt history, waste tracking, recipe ideas and a shared pantry and grocery list across the household. It's iPhone and iPad only, and needs iOS 18 or later.
Price and transparency are the problems. Pantrino+ is listed at $1.99 a week, $4.99 a month, $34.99 a year or $129.99 lifetime, the highest in this roundup, and the listing doesn't say what the free version includes. It also has only 5 ratings on the App Store, so there's little outside signal yet.
My Pantry Tracker: a simple tracker with a browser version
My Pantry Tracker does the basics: barcode scanning against a UPC database, quantities, locations, expiration dates, prices and shopping lists. Its standout is a web app, where you can use a USB or Bluetooth barcode scanner, which is handy if you're logging a stocked basement from a laptop.
Free gets one pantry location and one shopping list, with ads. The cloud subscription ($5.99 per 6 months or $9.99 a year) removes ads and adds backup, multi-device sync, the web app and unlimited locations and lists.
The worry is upkeep. The iOS app's last update was version 1.7.1 on May 1, 2024, and it holds 3.5 stars from 29 ratings. Neither the listing nor the site mentions expiry notifications or sharing with another household member.
Grocy: for people who run their own server
Grocy is a free, open-source, self-hosted "ERP beyond your fridge." You run it with Docker, as a Home Assistant add-on, or as a Windows desktop app, then use it in a browser or through community apps for Android and iOS. It scans barcodes with your phone camera right in the browser and looks up new products through Open Food Facts. It tracks stock and what's due soon, sets minimum stock amounts that feed the shopping list, and plans meals from recipes, with a "Due Score" that favors recipes using up food that's close to its date. It also tracks chores, batteries and household equipment, if you want it to.
You're the IT department, though. Grocy's install notes tell you the default login is admin/admin and to change it immediately, and the site says the installable web app has no offline capability. The site doesn't mention push notifications for expiry; you'd need to look at integrations for that.
Barcode, receipt or typing: what you'll actually keep up

A pantry app stops being accurate the first week nobody logs the shopping, and it rarely recovers. So the way food gets in deserves more thought than recipe features.
Say your weekly shop comes to 32 lines on the receipt, and 7 of those are loose produce: bananas, a head of broccoli, three onions. With a barcode app, that's 25 scans at the counter plus 7 items typed or picked from a list, and each one needs a date if you want alerts. With a receipt app, it's one photo and then a review of 32 lines, fixing whatever the store abbreviated (our guide to grocery receipt codes decodes the common ones). Neither is zero work. Barcodes give you the exact brand and pack size. Receipts give you the price you paid, which is what makes spending totals possible, and they catch the produce that has no barcode.
Typing is underrated for small households. If you mostly want to know whether there's a second jar of tahini before you buy a third, entering the dozen things you tend to overbuy is enough. A paper or spreadsheet version works too; our printable pantry inventory list is built for exactly that.
On expiry dates: Pantry Check and KitchenPal can fill in a date for you. That saves typing, but it's an estimate for a generic product, not a reading of the pack in your hand. Where the date matters to you, type the one printed on the package. What "best by", "use by" and "sell by" actually mean is covered in best before vs use by vs sell by.
What three years of each app costs
Subscriptions look cheap per month and add up. The table below is the list price for three years of the paid tier, assuming US prices stay where they are in September 2026.
| App | Cheapest route to 3 years of the paid tier | 3-year cost |
|---|---|---|
| Grocy | Free software (you supply the server) | $0 |
| BeaglePrep | One-time Pro | $4.99 |
| NoWaste | Annual Pro, 3 years ($6.99 × 3) | $20.97 |
| My Pantry Tracker | Annual cloud subscription ($9.99 × 3) | $29.97 |
| KitchenPal | Lifetime ($29.99), or $39.99 for the family lifetime pack | $29.99 |
| Duneed | Annual Premium ($11.99 × 3) | $35.97 |
| Your Food | Yearly ($14.99 × 3), a few cents under the $44.99 lifetime | $44.97 |
| Pantrino | Annual Pantrino+ ($34.99 × 3) | $104.97 |
| Pantry Check | Can't be calculated: the listing doesn't state plan terms | Not stated |
The cheapest isn't automatically the best value. BeaglePrep's $4.99 doesn't buy household sharing, and Pantry Check's free 200 items may mean you never pay at all.
Whether any of them pays for itself depends on what already goes in the trash. Our food waste calculator puts a yearly dollar figure on that, which is the number to hold a $35 or $105 subscription against.
How to choose a pantry tracker app by use case

Big prepper stockpile
BeaglePrep is the only app here designed around days of supply, rotation and multiple cache locations, and it works without a signal. Pay the $4.99; the free 75 items won't hold a stockpile. If you need to share the inventory with a partner today, Pantry Check's 10,000-item plan with family sharing is the alternative on iPhone. Grocy costs nothing at any size if you're willing to self-host.
Family sharing
Your Food is the cleanest deal: one Premium purchase covers up to 10 members, and invitees don't pay. KitchenPal also upgrades family members when one person buys Premium, and adds meal planning the whole family can see. Pantry Check shares for free within its 200 items. If the thing you really need to share is the shopping list rather than the pantry, see our guide to shared grocery lists.
Android users
Your options are KitchenPal, Your Food, NoWaste, BeaglePrep, My Pantry Tracker and Grocy (through a community app). Pantry Check, Pantrino and Duneed are not on Android. For a mixed iPhone and Android household, KitchenPal and Your Food are the two with sharing and a strong Google Play presence; check NoWaste's Android listing before you commit, since it lists fewer features than the iOS one.
People who hate data entry
Pick by what annoys you less. If standing at the counter scanning is fine but typing isn't, Pantry Check or KitchenPal. If you'd rather deal with one piece of paper per shop, a receipt app: Duneed or Pantrino on iPhone. NoWaste lists receipt scanning on iOS too. Whatever you choose, skip the spice rack. Nobody needs an alert for a jar of cumin. If the receipt is what you want to work from, best grocery receipt scanner apps compares the receipt readers with the rewards apps.
Self-hosters
Grocy, without much contest. It's free, has a REST API, runs next to Home Assistant, and keeps your data on your own hardware. BeaglePrep is the closest offline, no-account option for people who want privacy without running a server.
An app older lists still recommend
CozZo still appears in older roundups, such as Meet Penny's list of pantry apps, usually for its receipt reader. Its site now carries an end-of-life announcement: the cloud infrastructure behind it is being shut down, and a free version with all premium features included was supported until December 30, 2025. Don't build a new inventory in it.
FAQ
Is there a completely free pantry inventory app?
Grocy is free with no limits, but you host it. The phone apps all draw the free line somewhere: Pantry Check at 200 items, NoWaste at 500 items and 6 lists, BeaglePrep at 75 items, Your Food at one inventory, My Pantry Tracker at one location with ads, Duneed at 3 receipt scans a month with unlimited manual items, and KitchenPal on barcode scans (it doesn't say how many). Pantrino's listing doesn't describe its free version.
Can a pantry app tell me when food has gone bad?
No. These apps remind you about a date, either one you entered or one they estimated. They can't see the food. For what package dates mean, the date-label guide linked above covers it; for safety questions, go to a food-safety authority rather than an app.
Do pantry inventory apps work offline?
Some do. BeaglePrep says it works fully offline with no account, and Duneed works offline with an account adding sync and sharing. Grocy's web app has no offline mode, according to its site. Most of the others sync through the developer's cloud and don't state how they behave without a connection.
What's the difference between a pantry inventory app and a grocery list app?
A grocery list app tracks what you need to buy. A pantry inventory app tracks what you already have and, usually, when it expires, then feeds low or finished items into a list. All nine apps here have a shopping list (BeaglePrep's is part of Pro); plenty of list apps have no inventory at all.
Sources
- KitchenPal kitchenpalapp.com
- Pantry Check apps.apple.com
- finished items stop counting pantrycheck.com
- Your Food yourfood.app
- NoWaste apps.apple.com
- Google Play listing play.google.com
- BeaglePrep beagleprep.com
- Pantrino apps.apple.com
- My Pantry Tracker mypantrytracker.com
- Grocy grocy.info
- Meet Penny's list of pantry apps meetpenny.com
- end-of-life announcement cozzo.app
Found a mistake? Tell us and we will correct it: support@duneed.app